Cookie settings

We use cookies to help improve your experience with personalised content and tailored advertisements.

Companion Stairlifts Reviews

Companion Stairlifts

Met Your Expectation

Value for money

Quality

Speed Of Service

Customer Service

Overall Rating Score
140 Reviews
5 stars
52%
4 stars
22%
3 stars
17%
2 stars
6%
1 stars
3%

Customer Reviews

Review date : 25/06/2022

I needed a stairlift asap due to fall that left me no longer able to do steps , stairs or ladders ,now or in the future, so it was going to be for the rest of my life not short term , they initially said 14 days , but, due to curved stairs it took 4 weeks , which was good as l was under pressure due to not being discharged properly and in a funded emergency care bed .

- Ms H

Review date : 23/06/2022

Only Cutomer Service applies. Their initial estimate was lower than competitors. They would not explain what 'shaving a bulkhead' was. They tried to get a deposit before revealing what shaving would cost. Eventually they told me that it would cost £1500 (2 men x 2 days) and we would lose a cupboard. I had already removed timber cladding. The successful bidder, Dolphin, needed no preparatory alteration, were highly professional and cheaper.

- Mr J

Review date : 20/06/2022

We were promised installation in 5 to 7 days, had to argue over the phone to get it within the fortnight. Sales representative measured everything and said everything was fine: the existing hand rail would be ok and we could park the stairlift a couple of stairs up to avoid having to move the radiator. In reality, the hand rail had to be moved to the other side and the radiator had to be replaced with a smaller double radiator costing another £200 and odd pounds. We had to constantly argue to

- Mr P

Review date : 04/06/2022

My husband unfortunately died whilst still in hospital days after the installation, so never had the opportunity to use or even see the stairlift. Company refused to take it back for refund. I would have been happy to forfeit the cost of installation and decomissioning.

- Mr P

Review date : 31/05/2022

Stair lift instalment was good. After service is terrible. I have tried many times to call you but you don't call back! I have even called Paul. The person we purchased lift from. But doesn't call back or text back. Would I recommend you NO. Makes me think will we get our 12 month service! I wouldn't recommend you to friends - sorry.

- Mrs C

Review date : 31/05/2022

Quick professional service, found a way around a fan stair step to install a straight stairlift for my mum rather than a curved much more expensive lift. Price included stair step modification, grab rails, the lift (new not reconditioned) fitting, swivel turn at top landing, and motorised footplate very pleased indeed with the final cost, very price competitive against two other main stream stairlift suppliers.

- Mrs D

Review date : 22/05/2022

All staff that came to the house were friendly, polite and knew their product. They were quick with minimal mess. I am extreemly happy with my chairlift and the monumental difference it has made to my daily living. Thank you AbleCare I would recommend you without hesitation.

- Mrs P

Review date : 07/05/2022

Good all round Company

- Mr W

Review date : 26/04/2022

As our stair rail extends into a small hallway we needed a rail that retracted after use - Companion were the sole providers of a retracting rail. Other suppliers use a rail where the bottem lifts up maually or automatically - not aesthetically pleasing in my opinion.

- Mr S

Review date : 25/04/2022

Very good

- Mr B

Review date : 12/04/2022

last week I submitted a review based on my experience with 'Companion' unfortunately I had to cancel the installation at short notice as my wife was taken into hospital and we knew she had very little time remaining. The Customer Service team said I may be required to pay additional costs over and above the £500 due to the short notice and I would be contacted. There has been no further contact and therefore I assumed that they was happy to retain the deposit despite my not receiving any co

- Mr E

Review date : 12/04/2022

Although the stairlift stopped working after just six days, problem was rectified by visit from engineer.

- Mr A

Review date : 10/04/2022

They removed my second stair handrail weeks before the stairlift was installed. That was very inconsiderste. All firms were critical of each other - which helped. BUt I am shocked at how much room the lift takes up. I should have compared widths.

- Mrs C

Review date : 07/04/2022

The worst thing was that they removed my second stair handrail a fortnight before the stairlift was installed. That ws thoughtless. It does take up a lot more room than I expected.

- Mrs C

Review date : 06/04/2022

As my wife was taken into hospital two days prior to the installation I had to put the order on 'hold' two days prior to installation. The day before installation I had to cancel as we discovered she only had a few weeks remaining. I was advised by 'Customer Services' that I 'may' be contacted about cancellation fees and have heard nothing since. As I paid £500 deposit I guess they are happy to hold that money but I am advised that I had a right to cancel/cooling off period but I never received

- Mr E

Review date : 01/04/2022

The surveyor came our measured the stairs advised on what needed fitting ie power supply he measured me to make sure there was enough room for me to comfortably travel up and down the stairs his knowledge of the product was excellent,we paid the deposit and the stairlift was fitted within 10days now that’s what I call good service.

- Mr C

Review date : 25/03/2022

I was told the quote would hold for a year but never received anything in writing - the person on the phone was very offhanded.

- Mrs P

Review date : 15/03/2022

Delighted with service. , installed eight days from ordering. No heavy pressure selling.

- Mrs B

Review date : 08/03/2022

pleased with the service and the product

- Miss B

Review date : 22/02/2022

Very satisfied

- Mrs B

Review date : 20/02/2022

For the quality of build and clean track which needs no lubrication this cannot be bettered. The person using our lift is not very tall so the only improvement I can think of is a lower seat height.

- Mr C

Review date : 13/02/2022

Difficult to assess properly as my father does not live with us but visits sometimes. Fitting is neat and not too obtrusive. Speedy initial service and fitting done on time. Communication was excellent throughout.

- Mrs W

Review date : 10/02/2022

Both companies came on time to give an estimate and the sales person were very professional

- Mr C

Review date : 06/02/2022

I needed a stairlift put in quickly before my husband was due out of hospital. This was in the midst of Christmas and New Year and of course covid. Companion sent a local rep out within a week and 10 days later the stair was in place. I was kept fully informed throughout and operatives were cheerful, helpful and professional. I recommend this company.

- Mrs P

Review date : 02/02/2022

Due to very sad exceptional disastrous circumstances the lift was never fitted. After giving them a full explanation, they were very gracious in there understanding of the situation. I cannot thank them enough and wish them the very best for the future

- Mr B

Review date : 31/01/2022

Great product at a competitive price!

- Mr D

Review date : 29/01/2022

I was very pleased with the whole experience, today I recommended my sister's neaghbour.

- Miss M

Review date : 25/01/2022

Really quick survey with a great price and fitted quickly

- Mr C

Review date : 22/01/2022

Stairlift was never used due to my wife dying. Companion do not buy back the stairlifts and nobody else wants them. Had to fight very hard to get them to come and remove the lift even though their website said they did. If you ever want to remove and sell the stairlift avoid this company at all costs

- Mr S

Review date : 17/01/2022

Initial install 24.09, maybe finish 26.01 appalling.

- Mr C

Review date : 15/01/2022

Returning the footplate to its normal position after use is very noisy.

- Mr H

Review date : 28/12/2021

Bottom end has double c orner.Top of newal post came off and not reinstated.At lower end about 50mm toohigh.The seat belt will not retract fully so dangles down.

- Mr R

Review date : 24/12/2021

With the exception of Chris in Sales and Heather in Customer Service, I was not overly impressed. I had to push in the end to get the stairlift installed and if it weren't for Heather my sister might still be sleeping in the lounge over Christmas. That said the stairlift is in and working. My only other disappointment was that a metal plate had to be drilled into our ceramic tiling in our hallway for the automated arm to drop. I wish we had been told this was a necessity when the technician vis

- Ms G

Review date : 21/12/2021

Very good service

- Mr H

Review date : 20/12/2021

Cannot fault any aspect

- Mr S

Review date : 15/12/2021

Team that installed the stairlift were courteous, helpful an professional. We are delighted with the outcome.

- Mr M

Review date : 12/12/2021

Really professional

- Mr B

Review date : 10/12/2021

I purchased the freecurve stairlift and it is excellent would highly recommend it the service was outstanding

- Mr B

Review date : 06/12/2021

Very prompt from initial quotation to fitting team

- Mr H

Review date : 02/12/2021

The 2 consultants who visited individually were very professional, polite and helpful, without being pushy, which myself and my aunt (who is the user of the chair) really appreciated. The installation engineer and his apprentice were excellent and a credit to your company.

- Mr O

Review date : 30/11/2021

The installer did not mind me watching him and as an ex electronics engineer I was very impressed.His dexterity connecting everything up was amazing. Order to completion was just over a week. The installation is very neat and is as unobtrusive as a stairlift can be.. Everything was demonstrated and has been in constant use with no problems. A thoroughly satisfied customer.

- Mr V

Review date : 25/11/2021

Very quick and professional. Stairlift manufactured in about a fortnight and fitted in 3 hours.

- Mr M

Review date : 23/11/2021

not counting somebody else's equipment sent to our house, also delivered wrong way swivel chair. had to wait for MY chair getting delivered . the fitter was excellent.

- Mr K

Review date : 23/11/2021

Great service. And easy to operate chair lift. It helps me a lot now to go up and down stairs without pain. Thanks

- Mr C

Review date : 19/11/2021

Excellent fitters. Overpromised on delivery dates and didn’t phone back as promised on occasions.

- Mr M

Review date : 15/11/2021

Company very happy to take money and promise stairlift could be fitted. Assured us they would not have to drill into floor or move radiators. Engineer comes to fit it and tells us they’ve sent the wrong parts. After multiple calls to company (kept being promised call backs which never came) eventually got to speak to someone who told me the original sales person was incorrect and they would have to drill into floor, I agreed for this to be done. Two weeks later after again multiple calls to comp

- Mr B

Review date : 14/11/2021

I am so thankful I got my stair lift. It has helped me to stay in my home but even more than important it is helping my joints. I am not in as much discomfort because the stair lift is protecting my joints.

- Mrs C

Review date : 13/11/2021

good survey only think the top over run could have been a little longer. fitting was very good. a little noise over section joints . just wish i could turn off the peeping so i don't disturb the rest of the house at night .

- Mr W

Review date : 10/11/2021

After a great deal of research and 4 Suppliers coming to talk to us about their product, we decided on Companion as they seemed very professional and they were also the Manufacturer, and they gave us a price we were prepared to pay . Some smaller Companies are just agents. The Surveyor who measured up was very pleasant and efficient and did a Computer virtual moving image of the finished job which was very helpful . 3 weeks later the stairlift arrived . The young man who fitted it was

- Mrs K

Review date : 03/11/2021

Excellent service from start to finish,staff were polite and respectful of parents wishes. The stairlift has given my parents some quality of life back and they use the stair lift everyday,both for themselves and even moving the washing upstairs so they don't have to carry it,thank you.

- Miss M

Review date : 02/11/2021

The stairlift was judged by their own Engineer day after installation to be not fit for purpose, unsafe,unacceptable and not to be used without supervision..

- Mrs V

Review date : 02/11/2021

A good company.

- Mr S

Review date : 25/10/2021

Brilliant woul recommend highly a god send

- Mr G

Review date : 25/10/2021

But and it's a big but. My husband died 3 weeks after it was installed and Companion Stair lifts/Handicare didn't want to know about uninstalling it!!!I Cannot believe this!! Perhaps someone would like to comment?

- Mrs W

Review date : 25/10/2021

Brilliant highly recommend it

- Mr G

Review date : 17/10/2021

From initial enquiry and visit from assessor to installation was little over three weeks. Each member of staff showed a level of knowledge and thoughtfulness which was impressive. No problem in recommending this firm.

- Mr R

Review date : 09/10/2021

The young man who fitted it was excellent

- Mrs R

Review date : 30/09/2021

I found response to telephone calls very bad. They never called back when said they would. I found that unacceptable and uncaring. I was promised a refund of £250 for getting in touch from internet and don’t know if I will receive this. No acknowledgement of deposit paid . Overall very bad customer service.. makes me wonder what response I will get if I ever need a call out when installed.. I will have to wait and see.

- Mrs N

Review date : 25/09/2021

Only had my companion stair lift a few days but have no regrets in its purchase,top quality and so simple to use.would recommend it.5

- Mr G

Review date : 13/09/2021

Companion stair lifts were no nonsense and easy to deal with. They talked about their products and were extremely professional. Pricing was competitive , the quality of service was was excellent and the lift was installed within a week. Sterling service and I would definitely recommend.

- Mr C

Review date : 06/09/2021

Not yet complete!

- Mr F

Review date : 02/09/2021

Not yet complete.

- Mr F

Review date : 06/08/2021

Excellent quality and feels very safe

- Mrs S

Review date : 22/07/2021

The company, surveyor, stairlift excellent. I had issues with the fitter or he with me but customer service sorted the problem and I don't think it will happen again.

- Mr B

Review date : 21/05/2021

First class service throughout... Ensuring we got the correct stair lift made especially for us and excellent fitters...and after service 1st class.

- Ms P

Review date : 30/04/2021

Chair goes up right hand side, left handside chair delivered in mislabelled box. Had arranged to be there for 4 hrs, had to then arrange another 4 hrs on another day. Took them 10 days to come back. The reps from all 3 companies Acorn and Hannah] quoted say controls are very easy, but my mother with mild dementia found them difficult to sequence, especially remembering to put both arms down.

- Mrs M

Review date : 25/04/2021

So far so good? !

- Mrs M

Review date : 11/02/2021

Brilliant service from start to finish

- Mr B

Review date : 11/02/2021

There were some delays to the original timing but they were nothing to do with Companio

- Mr.

Review date : 19/01/2021

????

- Mr P

Review date : 20/12/2020

Wonderful company I will highly reccomend companion to any one thank you so much

- Mrs H

Review date : 13/12/2020

Top quality service, highly recommended.

- Mr B

Review date : 07/12/2020

Cancelled the order after the installation date was moved TWICE because “a piece of the rail was missing at the depot”.

- Mrs W

Review date : 05/12/2020

pleased we chose Handicare efficient engineers installed the chairlift and caused no problems with surrounding decorations

- Mr T

Review date : 17/11/2020

Very satisfied with everything.

- Mr C

Review date : 13/11/2020

The service of the man which sold me the stairlift was very good, also the man that came out and took measurements was good. When it arrive it didn’t fit, young fitter said we get this a lot. He made it fit by changing the angles, but it goes quite high before going up stairs and if you were tall you would hit your head. Had to go with it as we were desperate . But it works and does the job.

- Mrs T

Review date : 29/10/2020

From the initial phone call enquiry to the installation of the stairlift, every single person at Companion could not have been more friendly, polite and professional.

- Mrs S

Review date : 22/10/2020

a real life-changer! thank you.

- Ms H

Review date : 20/10/2020

Still can't use it as apparently it's my halls fault??

- Mrs M

Review date : 16/10/2020

Charges anywhere on the rail, comfortable, smooth, quiet operation, very pleased.

- Mr A

Review date : 14/10/2020

APPALING SERVICE FROM START TO FINISH. I REGRET GOING WITH THIS COMPANY

- Mr S

Review date : 07/10/2020

I chose this company because they were competitive on price! From the outset they were friendly knowledgeable and helpful Their COVID policies were excellent

- Miss M

Review date : 22/04/2020

Needed stairlift urgently. It was installed within 48 hours. Only had it 6 months but had no problems as yet. It`s been a lifesaver for me.

- Mr. D

Review date : 21/04/2020

Stairlift to high when at bottom of stair Approx 7 inch from floor Requiring a slide of seat Had 4 visits for different faults In 11 months This is there latest model The repair guys are quick to come out And have been very good.

- Mr. E

Review date : 21/04/2020

was very good answered all my questions got a few quotes from other dealers said they would not be beaten on price, prices was varied, but l decided to go with companion and they was true to their word and matched the price of other dealers fitted in a few days and l am very happy.

- Mr. S

Review date : 21/04/2020

first class stairlift. ,excellent customer service ,fast installation with out any damage to decorating or property. very small com pact running track . I am very pleased with everything

- Mr. E

Review date : 21/04/2020

Great to use but it is noisy. Beeping can drive you nuts and the electric footplate noise even makes the dogs jump. Still really happy with it though.

- Mr. A

Review date : 07/08/2019

Initially we had good service - they were the quickest to be able to install a stair lift and speed of installation was extremely important at the time. However the stair lift is no longer needed but I was given every indication at the time that dismantling the lift would be easy to arrange. Now I am told that there has been a change of policy and lifts are no longer dismantled and removed when no longer needed, leaving me with a problem of how to get the lift properly dismantled so that it can be refitted if necessary in the future. They will not buy it back so I don`t want to discard it in case I need it for myself in the future. Given that many other purchasers are likely to be in a similar position I find this an extraordinary view to take and very definitely not in the interests of customers.

- Mr. T

Review date : 04/02/2019

Not a very good start salesman in house on Thursday explained everything which was simple and good price as he left we was on phone ordering our stair lift and paid deposit was told surveyed would be on the 4feb at 12 noon as he never turned up I phoned companion to be told sorry there’s been a mixup and the surveyor wil be with you at six o’clock as he as two appointments at2 pm and 4pm I thought 12noon came before 2pm and 4 pm not amused

- Mr. O

Review date : 18/06/2018

Delivered on time and competitive price. Engineer clean, tidy and polite. Good company to deal with.

- Mr. S

Review date : 18/06/2018

They provide professional friendly service with quality equipment at an affordable price

- Mr. R

Review date : 17/11/2016

I would not buy from Companion anything again, the reason being the guy who did the negotiation with me, when I tried to phone him back to ask a question, I could not get hold of him ,it was as if it is now someone else"s problem/concern. Apart from that, the call centre girls were first class, told me what I wanted the know and not what I wanted to hear. The installation engineer was first class also.

- Mr. M

Review date : 28/09/2016

a great product with sliding track so no need for hinges if by a door. great product, made to order.

- Mr. A

Review date : 16/05/2016

Excellant product , Excellant service.

- Mr. D

Review date : 14/05/2016

The product did not match up to the glossy brochure image portrayed

- Mr. S

Review date : 14/05/2016

I found the installation service was excellent , but the sales service was poor. the information regarding the loan was wrong as was the installation time was inaccurate. the loan deal had to be sorted three times, including twice whilst we were signing up. The only reason we continued with the sale was my wife needed the stairlift urgently.

- Mr. F

Review date : 14/05/2016

Chairs and operation very good, operation of remote selectors questionable.

- Mr. S

Review date : 13/05/2016

I was not told about the height the wife would be at the first bend in the stairs which I think is totally too much. Also the first fitters that came to the house made a complete mess of installing the lift, the wife`s Knees hit the oppersit wall and the newel post, also the elec wire ring was a mess. The second and different fitters moved and refixed the track, also sorted out the elect a much better job, now wife`s knees don`t hit wall or post. I have called the company out to sort out two different promblams which was done very well and on time .

- Mr. J

Review date : 13/05/2016

First design did not fit well and gave a rough ride which was not acceptable. Second design was much better. It has worked well for the past few weeks and we are pleased to have it. No idea how it compares with other designs or firms who may well also give ruough rides?

- Mr. S

Review date : 13/05/2016

Cheapest of three quotes I obtained. No hassle sales technique. Quick response to any problems.

- Mr. S

Compare the top rated UK stairlift companies

Get an instant guide price now

Start Here