Cookie settings

We use cookies to help improve your experience with personalised content and tailored advertisements.

Acorn Stairlifts Reviews

Acorn Stairlifts

Met Your Expectation

Value for money

Quality

Speed Of Service

Customer Service

Overall Rating Score
776 Reviews
5 stars
58%
4 stars
27%
3 stars
10%
2 stars
4%
1 stars
1%

Customer Reviews

Review date : 15/09/2021

top marks on all things

- Mr K

Review date : 14/09/2021

Electrics needed extra work by homeowner`s electrician, at a cost of £70. otherwise the stairlift would have been left operating on the homeowner`s extension cable.

- Mrs T

Review date : 13/09/2021

Helps my husband to be more independent

- Mrs H

Review date : 13/09/2021

If we had been told that the stairlift could only go into the socket then we would have arranged for this to have been changed to a double socket prior to the installation. All that we were told was that we must have a socket available for it!

- Mrs B

Review date : 12/09/2021

Right from the moment we contacted Acorn regarding getting a stairlift they have been brilliant. A rep came to see us very quickly and thoroughly explained everything to us answering any questions we had. Once we had decided to get a stairlift from them they arranged to come a fit it in less than 2 weeks. Installation was quick and we are very pleased with it and would definitely recommend Acorn to anyone.

- Miss N

Review date : 10/09/2021

Friendly, polite and a pleasure to have working in the house.

- Mr B

Review date : 09/09/2021

Good professional service at reasonable price

- Mr J

Review date : 08/09/2021

The experience reminds me of Double Glazing selling . Think of a price because they know you need it. I should have spent more time but our needs were urgent and we rushed the purchase. I shall be contacting them about modification as it’s not quite what we require. Also they couldn’t wait to sell a maintenance package which is more expensive than my Car servicing.It is only a chair on a rail with a motor. No follow up regarding how are things which is poor from a company who appear to care.

- Mr S

Review date : 08/09/2021

Book a date for fitting,never turned up never called no email or written apology nothing

- Mrs C

Review date : 07/09/2021

Excellent service very professional

- Mr W

Review date : 06/09/2021

Had problems initially as the lift was improperly installed. This was quickly sorted out, however, and we are please overall with the whole service we've received

- Mr H

Review date : 05/09/2021

Works well simple to use

- Mr B

Review date : 01/09/2021

All stairlift companies rip you off with the high prices they charge to buy them, high costs to service them. When you no longer need them you have to pay them nearly £200 to have them removed so they can service them and sell them off again. Secondly you cannot sell them back to the company as they only want ones which are only a couple of years old. I would not recommend any one to buy a new stairlift as a second hand one serviced is just as good. Something needs to be done about this and

- Mrs S

Review date : 01/09/2021

All stairlift companies rip you off with the high prices they charge to buy them, high costs to service them. When you no longer need them you have to pay them nearly £200 to have them removed so they can service them and sell them off again. Secondly you cannot sell them back to the company as they only want ones which are only a couple of years old. I would not recommend any one to buy a new stairlift as a second hand one serviced is just as good. Something needs to be done about this and

- Mrs S

Review date : 31/08/2021

A most efficient service from first visit to completion a well made and neat product. My only regret is I didn’t get one earlier.

- Mr P

Review date : 30/08/2021

Too many follow-up calls. Very irritating.

- Dr N

Review date : 25/08/2021

so very helpful. Lift is excellent.

- Mr W

Review date : 25/08/2021

UNSTABLE LOWER SECTION SLOW

- Mr L

Review date : 23/08/2021

I purchased a stairlift from Acorn. Everyone I dealt with in the Company were friendly and efficient. I would always recommend them

- Mrs H

Review date : 22/08/2021

Stairlift was put in in less than a week. Was installed in about an hour or so in time for me getting out of hospital.

- Mrs M

Review date : 19/08/2021

Living in a 1st flat the lift has made it possible for me to stay in the flat and not have to move to ground floor accommodation. Made life so much easier. Many thanks.

- Mrs H

Review date : 15/08/2021

The fitter was extremely efficient and explained everything regarding use succinctly.

- Mrs W

Review date : 14/08/2021

Apart from pressing us to take out a maintenance contract for 5 years, with a year's warranty still to run, we cannot fault Acorn's service or the apparent quality of the stairlift itself.

- Mr.

Review date : 13/08/2021

No problems & fitted with in 4 days of ordering

- Mr H

Review date : 12/08/2021

I did not like the way the price reduced when we were mulling things over. Offer a price and stand by it: don't 'play' your customer'. Also, I'd like a two year warranty to be offered as standard rather than receive a very high quote for a warranty of that length.

- Mr H

Review date : 12/08/2021

Excellent service.

- Mr T

Review date : 11/08/2021

The stairlift has made a world of difference to me. Only one slight glitch, with the stairlift slightly sticking a couple of times, but this was resolved within 24 hours, by a lovely chap who came out to me following a phone call to Acorn

- Mrs G

Review date : 10/08/2021

From contact came measured and installed in 8 days. Took 2-3 hours to fit with minimum disruption or mess. If you need a stair lift these are the people to go to.

- Dr R

Review date : 09/08/2021

The surveyor did not measure accurately resulting in the installation of a stairlift which was too wide. My father could not use the stairlift as his knees were scraping the opposite wall. We waited a week for it to be uninstalled. They had taken the handrails off the wall to install the stairlift and they would not refit them. It was a total mess .

- Mrs D

Review date : 08/08/2021

Very pleased with service from acorn stairlift excellent

- Mrs A

Review date : 07/08/2021

Despite being told they were too expensive wouldn’t take no for an answer, had to get blunt with them

- Ms D

Review date : 06/08/2021

Very good service and price

- Mrs R

Review date : 04/08/2021

Other than a blip 1 week after installation, this was rectified the same day, we are very pleased with change that it has made to have the ability to have access to all areas of the house! Thank you ACORN.

- Mrs H

Review date : 03/08/2021

Acorn responded very quickly to our request for advice. They gave us various options and were very flexible about installation date. They fitted the stairlift on the day we wanted, their engineer turned up on time and did a great job. The advice is excellent if you experience difficulties. I marked VFM as average as I have nothing to compare Acorn to.

- Mr J

Review date : 02/08/2021

Find stairlift a great help. Very satisified

- Mr T

Review date : 01/08/2021

very service excellent job

- Mr C

Review date : 31/07/2021

very impressed with the service and help i got from all the people i came in contact with

- Mr A

Review date : 31/07/2021

It would be nice to leave a message when phoning, you just get music and have wait for someone to speak to!

- Mr K

Review date : 30/07/2021

Came out promptly when there was an intermittent problem with the stairlift and fixed it

- Mr H

Review date : 28/07/2021

Very good equipment and installed quickly. Only issue was that changing the install date last minute is not very dementia friendly. Apart from that very good service.

- Mrs B

Review date : 28/07/2021

Can’t submit comments until stairlift is installed which is in the next few days . Up till now I have found anyone I have spoken have been very helpful

- Mrs A

Review date : 27/07/2021

Very poor warranty. Very expensive additional warranty, Disgraceful call out charge £180. Positive opinion soured by post sale contact

- Mr N

Review date : 26/07/2021

Came out but never gave me a quote so I bought a second hand one from local company

- Miss E

Review date : 25/07/2021

I contacted Acorn Stairlifts as I wanted to know whether I had the option of staying in my own home. I spoke on the phone first and then had a visit from an Acorn Surveyor who took measurements of the stairway and explained to me all the benefits and features of their product. I was very impressed and when the time is right for me, I will contact them again.

- Mrs B

Review date : 25/07/2021

at point of survey misleading about warranty. was told 4 year, was not told it cost over £1400 extra. Arrangements for fitting were totally ignored, however the fitter, Tom, restored our faith - he saved the day in my opinion. What is the point in making arrangements if they are ignored, the mind boggles. Good product, pleased with the outcome for my elderly relative. thank you Tom the fitter

- Mr M

Review date : 25/07/2021

I would have thought it would have come with a five year guarantee at least, To guarantee for five years thy are asking half the price again - can’t have much faith in their product or alteratively it’s a rip off

- Dr C

Review date : 25/07/2021

No comments

- Mr G

Review date : 25/07/2021

installation was done very fast without any mess.the fitter was very polite and efficient

- Mr P

Review date : 23/07/2021

Great company to deal with. Mother in law happy with stairlift. Only issue is the audible beep when the stairlift is in use. I understand it’s a safety feature but it would be good to be able to turn it off as we are now woken at 7am every day as she goes downstairs.

- Mrs F

Review date : 23/07/2021

Excellent salesperson

- Mr P

Review date : 22/07/2021

The above comments are based on ‘pre installation’ customer service only. By mutual agreement, deposit paid and installation delayed.

- Mr B

Review date : 21/07/2021

The process was so easy and fitting done within two days

- Mr H

Review date : 20/07/2021

Very helpful engineer. Gave us info we didn’t have before. Charming and friendly service. He does your company great credit.

- Mr S

Review date : 19/07/2021

My Dad would not be able to visit without me having the chairlift installed. That alone is priceless

- Mrs R

Review date : 19/07/2021

Acorn was the only company to respond so cannot make any comparison

- Mr F

Review date : 17/07/2021

We have only had the stairlift a month so haven’t needed to call for any help , but am hoping the care will be good! The extra insurance after one year seemed prohibitive and there was not much difference in a reconditioned stairlift to a totally new one! The speed and attention to detail when it was installed was impressive. It’s not fast moving . My 94 yr old Dad says he needs the exercise so doesn’t use it for gong up to bed but it’s prevented an accident waiting to happen to get him safely d

- Mrs L

Review date : 16/07/2021

My review should be enough.All good.No complaints.Thank you.I did have one break down but this was dealt with speedily.

- Mr H

Review date : 15/07/2021

HI From my first enquiry, I felt that Acorn wanted to help me and help my mum who is 95 years old. When the Sales rep came to see me, he went through my options, suggested what option he thought would benefit me, through out his visit he was very professional, friendly, and informative. He should me a video for a chair list that I could have installed and even suggested that maybe my Mum would also like to see the video. Sold. When the fitter arrived, he made sure I knew what I was getting

- Mr D

Review date : 14/07/2021

Office staff were requested to provide two alternative fitting dates.........I had to phone them to get a reply. Otherwise everything else went to plan and I am delighted with the installation. It does what it says on the tin! I will recommend Acorn to friends who are considering a new stairlift. Allan MacLaren

- Mr M

Review date : 14/07/2021

RICKETY BOTTOM SECTION. 3 Visits to correct. Still rickety Told no more can be done. WISH I NEVER HEARD OF ACORN

- Mr L

Review date : 13/07/2021

the installer was brilliant very polite very efficient and attention to detail was very good it was a pleasure to have him in our home

- Mr M

Review date : 13/07/2021

ACORN STAIRLIFT IS EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY AND THE SERVICE IS GOOD.

- Mr M

Review date : 13/07/2021

I don't believe they fitted the most suitable lift

- Mr M

Review date : 12/07/2021

Far too much hardsell. several unnecessary phone calls even when simple explanation was given.

- Mr N

Review date : 12/07/2021

Excellent service from Handicare with no problems had a bit of bother with cover at first but realise stair lift a hard problem getting better as time goes no pressure to buy unlike another highly praised provider

- Mr C

Review date : 12/07/2021

Stairlift very slow and keeps varying speed for no reason

- Mr B

Review date : 10/07/2021

I wish I had gone to ABLE WORLD. I think I made a big mistake regarding installation price and aftercare cost

- Mr P

Review date : 06/07/2021

slight difficulty in locating release stop for the safety belt but otherwise relatively easy for someone with dementia

- Mr G

Review date : 01/07/2021

Cannot fault the service. Fitted within 24hrs of first contact and no serious problems

- Mr B

Review date : 01/07/2021

Very helpful customer service via phonecall and rep visit to discuss stairlif and to measure up.

- Miss Y

Review date : 29/06/2021

Brilliant swift service. Ability to rent the lift which we were unaware of that option. Quick installation no mess.

- Mrs C

Review date : 28/06/2021

Cannot praise them highly enough, SUCH fast service and very competitive pricing.

- Mrs M

Review date : 28/06/2021

All services where pleasant and helpful

- Ms S

Review date : 23/06/2021

Everything went really well from the initial consultation to the fitting. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Pleasure to deal with your company, would highly recommend.

- Mr N

Review date : 21/06/2021

No explanation by the engineer on how to operate the stair lift. Contacted by the company offering breakdown cover at an extortionate rate shortly after fitting, even though the unit was under warranty.

- Mr D

Review date : 20/06/2021

At a time when I most needed people to help, Acorn really stepped up and went beyond what I expected

- Mrs N

Review date : 20/06/2021

Stairlift ordered and installed in just a week

- Mr W

Review date : 19/06/2021

More background information on (for example) how to handle a breakdown would have been useful.

- Mr B

Review date : 19/06/2021

No negative comments Ask for deposit with order then balance with satisfied completion 2 week cooling off starts with fitting so get timing right

- Dr T

Review date : 18/06/2021

Very good

- Mr L

Review date : 15/06/2021

the best offer overall was from saltire edinburgh

- Mr G

Review date : 15/06/2021

Unable to help me

- Mr N

Review date : 14/06/2021

Fantastic customer service, patience and very accommodating. Amazing team thank you so much

- Mr H

Review date : 14/06/2021

Amazed how easy it was to get stairlift fitted. Like many other people II wish I had done it sooner.

- Mrs C

Review date : 11/06/2021

Functional but not well designed(eg loose wires and connectors hanging out, terminators on rails fit badly and fall off). Corners cut to fit too quickly and get to next job. Three visits from local engineer needed to get them to work properly Annual maintenance cost rather high.. The straight lift is better than the curved ones. Very slow on corners and changes in angle.. I am satisfied but not delighted.

- Mr A

Review date : 10/06/2021

The price for the refurbised stairlift was almost the same price as a new one.

- Mrs P

Review date : 07/06/2021

We had to cancel the order as my husband was confined to bed and has since died

- Mr M

Review date : 04/06/2021

Was looking to move to a bungalow as stairs were getting difficult but it will mean we can stay in our house and not go through the trouble and cost of moving

- Mrs C

Review date : 03/06/2021

Speed could be increased by 30 -50%. All stair lifts should have retrogressive re-charging of batteries as they descend. Seat should be upholstered. Why is there a few seconds delay before the motor starts?

- Mr L

Review date : 03/06/2021

Installer efficient neat and meticulous. He explained things well and was very polite.

- Mr B

Review date : 03/06/2021

IT TOOK A COUPLE OF WEEKS FOR ME TO ACCEPT THIS LIFT BUT NOW IT IS A GREAT ASSET AND I CERTAINLY COULD NOT MANAGE WITHOUT IT

- Mrs B

Review date : 01/06/2021

Highly recommend installer

- Mr R

Review date : 01/06/2021

stairlift is very slow

- Mr B

Review date : 31/05/2021

Pleasure to deal with

- Mr W

Review date : 30/05/2021

The stairlift is rented for 6 months...then I have the option to buy or extend the rental. The rail is mounted on the stair rather than on the wall...a bit like a cog railway...so there shouldn't be too much redecoration required when it is removed. Seems to work well enough...quite slow. Very cleverly the seat swivels at the top so that the user us safe getting off on the landing.

- Mrs H

Review date : 29/05/2021

Easy to use and I got a remote my carers can use

- Mr M

Review date : 27/05/2021

I cannot praise Acorn enough. The surveyor was very professional and explained everything clearly. The stairlift was installed very quickly and when we unfortunately no longer needed it only 3 weeks later, removed it just as quickly

- Mrs K

Review date : 24/05/2021

Opted for the rental package as unknown period of time for need. Potentially is an expensive option due to the stair configuration with the number of turns required.

- Mr L

Review date : 20/05/2021

Mam is really pleased she was a little reluctant at first but this has given her a new lease on life.

- Mrs E

Review date : 17/05/2021

great service when we needed it. TANKS

- Mr G

Compare the top rated UK stairlift companies

Get an instant guide price now

Start Here